What is healthy love?

Standard

This is what I have found out (for myself).

“Love does not pity…But it does have compassion…”
~ Don Miguiel Ruiz, The Mastery of Love

At first, I didn't quite understand the 
Don Miguel Ruiz quote. 
Then I began to learn that pity was 
not a positive emotion.
It takes away from encouragement and support 
for betterment of the situation(s).
Pity reassures one will always be too weak, 
too powerless to help oneself.

 

Twelve steps to co-commitment by Robert Najemy

I came across this site page right when 
I needed it - shortly after a breakup. The 
information made sense to me (though from 
whom/what I learned about love from would 
have pooh-poohed it).

"Love/Romance" fiction is/can be mind 
muckery, and yes it may have better content 
now, depending on the author or genre - it 
still [can] sets up expectations on a 
subconscious level. 
The subconscious mind is much more powerful 
than our conscious logic, I have found.
And as much as I enjoy a good movie with 
expected romantic interactions, that too 
is/can be mind muckery.
I won't even get into soap operas.

But as for those out there that write/read 
love poems or love letters to their
sweethearts - keep it up. :-)

 

Love is patient, love is kind
It does not envy, it does not boast
it is not proud
It does not dishonor others
It is not self-seeking
It is not easily angered
it keeps no record of wrongs
Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth
It always protects, always trusts,
always hopes, always perseveres.
~1 Corinthians 13.4-7

Something else to consider:

The Japanese kanji/Chinese character for 
"love" has a roof over the heart as part 
of the whole glyph.

 

 

