First sip of sake

Standard

I had tried my first sparkling sake on my birthday, years ago.

The only other time I tried sake was a sip from a gal pal’s that I had met up with for a meal at a Japanese restaurant years before that. I admit, the warmed sake had a strong liquorice taste not to my liking, plus the alcohol content seemed rather high (I’m sensitive to it).

So if any of you want to try something new, try some sparkling sake – if you haven’t already. It has the effervescence of champagne or sparkling wine.

The one I tried came in a frosted pink bottle, and an award label. It has a refreshing, fruity-flavor, but not necessarily of berries. 

I actually enjoyed and finished the little glass sake cup serving I had.

sparkling sake

This was about $8.00 from my local Asian market, when I got it.

 

As for the small bottle, my slight regret was not keeping it for use as a vase or turning it into an oil lamp. But, recycling wasn’t a bad choice either.

